Lively Tales About Dead Teams

Western Professional Hockey League (1996-2001)

leave a comment

The Western Professional Hockey League was a low-level independent minor league that played five seasons between 1996  and 2001.  The WPHL was active in five states, with franchises in Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Mexico and Texas.  The vast majority of clubs were based in Texas.

After the 2000-01 season, the WPHL merged with and was subsumed into the rival Central Hockey League.  Ten former WPHL franchises joined the CHL for the 2001-02 season, but only one still exists in 2012 – the Fort Worth (TX) Brahmas.

==Franchise List==

Franchise Years Active Home Page Tagged Posts
Abilene Aviators 1998-2000 Aviators Home Tagged Posts
Alexandria Warthogs 1998-2000 Warthogs Home Tagged Posts
Amarillo Rattlers 1996-2001 Rattlers Home Tagged Posts
Arkansas GlacierCats 1998-2000 GlacierCats Home Tagged Posts
Austin Ice Bats 1996-2001 Ice Bats Home Tagged Posts
Bossier-Shreveport Mudbugs 2000-2001 Mudbugs Home Tagged Posts
Central Texas Stampede 1996-2001 Stampede Home Tagged Posts
Corpus Christi Ice Rays 1998-2001 Ice Rays Home Tagged Posts
El Paso Buzzards 1996-2001 Buzzards Home Tagged Posts
Fort Worth Brahmas 1997-2001 Brahmas Home Tagged Posts
Lake Charles Ice Pirates 1997-2001 Ice Pirates Home Tagged Posts
Lubbock Cotton Kings 1999-2001 Cotton Kings Tagged Posts
Monroe Moccasins 1997-2001 Moccasins Home Tagged Posts
New Mexico Scorpions 1996-2001 Scorpions Home Tagged Posts
Odessa Jackalopes 1997-2001 Jackalopes Home Tagged Posts
San Angelo Outlaws 1997-2001 Outlaws Home Tagged Posts
Shreveport Mudbugs 1997-2000 Mudbugs Home Tagged Posts
Tupelo T-Rex 1998-2001 T-Rex Home Tagged Posts
Waco Wizards 1996-2000 Wizards Home Tagged Posts

Written by AC

January 5th, 2013 at 12:01 am

Posted in

Leave a Reply


Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers: