Lively Tales About Dead Teams

Archive for the ‘Ed Smith Stadium’ tag

2005-2009 Sarasota Reds

leave a comment

Sarasota RedsFlorida State League (2005-2009)

Born: 2005 – Affiliation change from Sarasota Red Sox
Moved: November, 2009 (Bradenton Marauders)

Stadium: Ed Smith Stadium (7,500)

Team Colors:

Owner: Cincinnati Reds LLP

Florida State League Championships: None


The Sarasota Reds were a Class A farm club of the Cincinnati Reds in the Florida State League for five season from 2005 to 2009.  Cincinnati’s connection with Sarasota dated back to 1998, when Gulf Coast city became the Reds spring training home.

Notable players that came up through Sarasota during the Reds era included future Major League All-Stars Jay Bruceand Joey Votto and pitcher Johnny Cueto.

Following the 2009 season, the Reds shifted their spring training operations to Goodyear, Arizona and lost interest in maintaining a farm club in Sarasota.  In November 2009, the Reds sold their Florida State League affiliate to the Pittsburgh Pirates.  The Pirates immediately moved the ball club to Bradenton, ending 20 continuous years of FSL baseball in Sarasota.  The former Sarasota franchise is known today as the Bradenton Marauders.



Florida State League Programs


Written by AC

November 16th, 2013 at 2:45 am


Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers: