Lively Tales About Dead Teams

WPS (2009-2011)

leave a comment

Women’s Professional Soccer (WPS) was the second attempt to establish a world class professional league for women in the United States, following the previous failure of the Women’s United Soccer Association (2001-2003).  WPS succeeded in its goal to attract a quorum of the world’s top female footballers, including virtually the entire U.S. Women’s National Team roster, the Brazilian superstar Marta, and other top players from England, Brazil, Scandinavia and the Far East.  The exception was Germany, which discouraged its players from leaving their domestic league prior to the 2011 Women’s World Cup.

Off the field, WPS was subject to the same problems of apathy and instability that plague most start-up leagues and most women’s sports.  Of the seven franchises that launched the league in 2009, only two were still standing when the league opened its third and final season 24 months later in April of 2011.  WPS announced an indefinite suspension of operations on January 30, 2012 just two weeks after conducting a college draft in anticipation of a fourth season.  The shutdown was made permanent a few months later, to the surprise of no one.

Four former WPS franchises – the Boston Breakers, Chicago Red Stars, Sky Blue FC and Western New York Flash – remain active in the National Women’s Soccer League in 2013.

==Franchise List==

Franchise Years Active Home Page Tagged Posts
Atlanta Beat 2010-2011 Beat Home Tagged Posts
Boston Breakers 2009-2011 Breakers Home Tagged Posts
Chicago Red Stars 2009-2010 Red Stars Home Tagged Posts
FC Gold Pride 2009-2010 Gold Pride Home Tagged Posts
Los Angeles Sol 2009 Sol Home Tagged Posts
MagicJack 2011 MagicJack Home Tagged Posts
Philadelphia Independence 2010-2011 Independence Home Tagged Posts
Sky Blue FC 2009-2011 Sky Blue Home Tagged Posts
St. Louis Athletica 2009-2010 Athletica Home Tagged Posts
Washington Freedom 2009-2010 Freedom Home Tagged Posts
Western New York Flash 2011 Flash Home Tagged Posts

==Notable Players==

  • Brandi Chastain (FC Gold Pride 2009)
  • Kristine Lilly (Boston Breakers 2009-2010)
  • Marta (Los Angeles Sol, FC Gold Pride, Western New York Flash 2009-2011)
  • Tiffeny Milbrett (FC Gold Pride 2009-2010)
  • Alex Morgan (Western New York Flash 2011)
  • Kelly Smith (Boston Breakers 2009-2011)
  • Hope Solo (St. Louis Athletica, Atlanta Beat, MagicJack 2009-2011)
  • Abby Wambach (Washington Freedom, MagicJack 2009-2011)

Written by AC

April 28th, 2012 at 3:02 pm

Posted in

Leave a Reply


Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers: