Lively Tales About Dead Teams

WUSA (2001-2003)

leave a comment

Use the drop down menus or click these links for our chronological galleries of game programs and media guides from the Women’s United Soccer Association (2001-2003).

The WUSA launched in April 2001, spurred by the success of the 1999 FIFA Women’s World Cup tournament hosted by the United States. Structured as a single entity business and backed by cable TV investors, WUSA enjoyed franchise stability (none of its eight individual clubs folded or relocated) and succeeded in attracting many of the top players from around the world.

The league underperformed expectations dramatically in corporate sponsorship and television ratings, resulting in an estimated $100 million in losses over three seasons.  The league folded under financial duress on September 15th, 2003.

Women’s United Soccer Association Franchise List

Franchise Years Active Founders Cup Champions
Atlanta Beat 2001-2003 None
Bay Area CyberRays 2001 2001
Boston Breakers 2001-2003 None
Carolina Courage 2001-2003 2002
New York Power 2001-2003 None
Philadelphia Charge 2001-2003 None
San Diego Spirit 2001-2003 None
San Jose CyberRays 2002-2003 2001 (as "Bay Area")
Washington Freedom 2001-2003 2003


Written by AC

March 25th, 2012 at 1:52 pm

Posted in

Leave a Reply


Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers: