Lively Tales About Dead Teams

United Soccer League (1984-1985)

leave a comment

 The United Soccer League was a 2nd division outdoor pro league in the United States during the spring/summer of 1984 and the spring of 1985.

The USL rose out of the ashes of the defunct American Soccer League (1933-1983), which collapsed in early 1984.  The Dallas Americans, Jacksonville Tea Men, Oklahoma City franchise, and Rochester Flash came over from the ASL and were joined by five new expansion franchises to field a league of nine clubs in 1984.   The USL also announced plans to play an indoor season in the fall/winter of 1984-1985, but these plans were later cancelled.

When the league returned in the spring of 1985, six of the nine franchises had disbanded and the Houston Dynamos, one of the league’s most stable clubs, elected to operate as an independent club playing an exhibition scheduled rather than continue in the USL.  This left the league with only two holdovers – the champion Ft. Lauderdale Sun (now known as the South Florida Sun) and the Dallas Americans.  Oklahoma City moved to Tulsa and a new team was added in the El Paso-Juarez border region.

The league managed only a handful of games in 1985 before chronic financial problems caused the league to disband at the end of June 1985.


United Soccer League Franchises

Franchise Years Active USL Champions
Buffalo Storm 1984
Charlotte Gold 1984
Dallas Americans 1984-1985
El Paso-Juarez Gamecocks 1985
Fort Lauderdale Sun 1984 1984
Houston Dynamos 1984
Jacksonville Tea Men 1984
New York Nationals 1984
Oklahoma City Stampede 1984
Rochester Flash 1984
South Florida Sun 1985
Tulsa Tornados 1985

Written by AC

April 13th, 2012 at 12:25 am

Posted in

Leave a Reply


Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers: