Lively Tales About Dead Teams

NASL (2011-Present)

leave a comment

North American Soccer League 2011Formed: November 2009

First Game: April 9, 2011

Seasons: 7 and counting*
Franchises: 19 and counting

States, Territoris & Provinces: 13
Alberta, CA, FL, GA, IN, MN, NC, NY, OK, Ontario, Puerto Rico, Quebec, TX

*Starting in 2013, the NASL scheduled split fall and spring seasons. Arguably there are two NASL “seasons” in every calendar year, although the league plays only one Soccer Bowl championship game in each calendar year. For purposes of this page, we consider each calendar year of operation as one “season”, comparable to other leagues.


North American Soccer League Franchise List

Franchise Years Active Soccer Bowl Champions
Atlanta Silverbacks 2011-2015 None
California United FC 2018-Present None
Carolina RailHawks 2011-2016 None
FC Edmonton 2011-2017 None
FC Tampa Bay 2011 2012 (as Tampa Bay Rowdies)
Fort Lauderdale Strikers 2011-2016 None
Indy Eleven 2014-2017 None
Jacksonville Armada FC 2015-Present None
Miami FC 2016-Present None
Minnesota Stars FC 2012 2011 (as NSC Minnesota Stars)
Minnesota United FC 2013-2016 2011 (as NSC Minnesota Stars)
Montreal Impact 2011 None
New York Cosmos 2013-Present 2013-2015-2016
NSC Minnesota Stars 2011 2011
North Carolina FC 2017 None
Ottawa Fury FC 2014-2016 None
Puerto Rico FC 2016-Present None
Puerto Rico Islanders 2011-2012 None
Rayo OKC 2016 None
San Antonio Scorpions 2012-2015 2014
San Diego 1904 FC 2018-Present None
San Francisco Deltas 2017 2017
Tampa Bay Rowdies 2012-2016 2012



Written by AC

June 16th, 2014 at 1:49 am

Posted in

Leave a Reply


Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers: