Lively Tales About Dead Teams

AISA & NPSL (1984-2001)

one comment

American Indoor Soccer AssociationThe American Indoor Soccer Association (AISA) formed in 1984 as a Midwest-based indoor soccer circuit.   The league was a second tier effort by design, playing primarily in small minor league hockey arenas in cities such as Canton, Columbus, Kalamazoo and Milwaukee.  Early AISA players typically aspired to move up to the Major Indoor Soccer League, which offered highest level of professional soccer in the United States (indoor or outdoor) from 1984 through the end of the decade.

In the late 1980’s the AISA began to expand its geographic footprint and to lease higher quality arenas.  To reflect its new sense of ambition, the league re-branded itself as the National Professional Soccer League prior to the 1990-91 season.   The league also began to tinker with traditional indoor soccer scoring rules (which awarded one point for each goal) in the  late 1980’s, creating 2-point and 3-point goals for scoring from distance, as well as distinctions between the value of full strength and power play goals.  By the 1990’s, double-digit scores were the norm in NPSL games.

The league continued to expand aggressively in the 1990’s, placing franchises from Florida to Denver to Montreal.  But the overall fortunes of the sport were in decline and the NPSL terminated operations at the end of the 2000-01 season.  Six NPSL franchises soldiered on for a while in successor leagues.

Two former NPSL clubs are still in operation as of 2016, including the Milwaukee Wave who began play as an original AISA franchise in the winter of 1984.  The other surviving club is the Baltimore Blast.


==Franchise List==

Franchise Years Active Tagged Posts
Atlanta Attack 1989-1991 Tagged Posts
Baltimore Blast 1998-2001 Tagged Posts
Baltimore Spirit 1992-1998 Tagged Posts
Buffalo Blizzard 1992-2001 Tagged Posts
Canton Invaders 1984-1996  Tagged Posts
Chicago Power 1988-1996 Tagged Posts
Chicago Shoccers 1985-1987 Tagged Posts
Chicago Vultures 1984-1985 Tagged Posts
Cincinnati Silverbacks 1995-1998 Tagged Posts
Cleveland Crunch 1992-2001 Tagged Posts
Columbus Capitals 1984-1986 Tagged Posts
Columbus Invaders 1996-1997 Tagged Posts
Dayton Dynamo 1988-1995 Tagged Posts
Denver Thunder 1992-1993 Tagged Posts
Detroit Rockers 1990-2001 Tagged Posts
Edmonton Drillers 1996-2000 Tagged Posts
Florida Thundercats 1998-1999 Tagged Posts
Fort Wayne Flames 1986-1989 Tagged Posts
Harrisburg Heat 1991-2001 Tagged Posts
Hershey Impact 1988-1991 Tagged Posts
Illinois Thunder 1990-1992 Tagged Posts
Indiana Kick 1989-1990 Tagged Posts
Jacksonville Generals 1988 Tagged Posts
Kalamazoo Kangaroos 1984-1986 Tagged Posts
Kansas City Attack 1991-2001  Tagged Posts
Louisville Thunder 1984-1987 Tagged Posts
Memphis Rogues 1989-1990 Tagged Posts
Memphis Storm 1986-1989 Tagged Posts
Milwaukee Wave 1984-2001 Tagged Posts
Montreal Impact 1997-2000 Tagged Posts
New York Kick 1990-1991 Tagged Posts
Philadelphia Kixx 1996-2001 Tagged Posts
St. Louis Ambush 1992-2000 Tagged Posts
Tampa Bay Rowdies 1986-1987 Tagged Posts
Tampa Bay Terror 1995-1997 Tagged Posts
Toledo Pride 1986-1987 Tagged Posts
Toronto Shooting Stars 1996-1997 Tagged Posts
Toronto ThunderHawks 2000-2001 Tagged Posts
Tulsa Ambush 1991-1992 Tagged Posts
Wichita Wings 1992-2001  Tagged Posts

Written by AC

March 25th, 2012 at 2:00 pm

Posted in

One Response to 'AISA & NPSL (1984-2001)'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'AISA & NPSL (1984-2001)'.

  1. […] 1992-2001: The NPSL goes on as a low-key but relatively stable enterprise, absorbing two MISL teams and settling with an […]

Leave a Reply


Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers: