Lively Tales About Dead Teams

Western Basketball Association (1978-1979)

leave a comment

The Western Basketball Association was a minor league basketball circuit with franchises in Arizona, California, Montana, Nevada, Utah and Washington. The league lasted for just a single season in the winter of 1978-79. The Tucson Gunners defeated the Reno Bighorns to win the league’s only championship series in April 1979.

Following the 1978-79 campaign, the WBA announced plans to merge with the rival Continental Basketball Association (CBA) to form a new loop called the United Basketball Association. However, all of the WBA clubs during the summer of 1979 so the CBA simply continued on under its original name.

Western Basketball Association Franchise List

Franchise Years Active Tagged Posts
Fresno Stars 1978-1979 Tagged Posts
Great Falls Sky 1978-1979 Tagged Posts
Las Vegas Dealers 1978-1979 Tagged Posts
Reno Bighorns 1978-1979 Tagged Posts
Tucson Gunners 1978-1979 Tagged Posts
Utah Prospectors 1978-1979 Tagged Posts
Washington Lumberjacks 1978-1979 Tagged Posts

Written by AC

November 14th, 2012 at 2:24 pm

Posted in

Leave a Reply


Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers: