Lively Tales About Dead Teams

American Basketball League (1996-1998)

one comment

American Basketball League

Formed: 1995
Disbanded: December 22, 1998

First Game:
Last Game:

Seasons: 2.5
Franchises: 11
States: 11
(CA, CO, CT, GA, IL, OH, OR, PA, TN, VA, WA)

The ABL was a women’s professional league which launched in 1996 and competed with the NBA-backed Women’s National Basketball Association (WNBA). The ABL initially attracted better talent than the WNBA, thanks to better salaries and benefits.  But the league was unable to compete for coveted sponsorships and television contracts. The ABL folded on December 22, 1998 only two months into its third season of play.


American Basketball League Franchise List

Franchise Years Active ABL Champions
Atlanta Glory 1996-1998 None
Chicago Condors 1998 None
Colorado Xplosion 1996-1998 None
Columbus Quest 1996-1998 1997-1998
Long Beach Stingrays 1997-1998 None
Nashville Noise 1998 None
New England Blizzard 1996-1998 None
Philadelphia Rage 1997-1998 None
Portland Power 1996-1998 None
Richmond Rage 1996-1997 None
San Jose Lasers 1996-1998 None
Seattle Reign 1996-1998 None



1997-98 American Basketball League Human Resources Manual


Written by AC

March 25th, 2012 at 2:49 pm

Posted in

One Response to 'American Basketball League (1996-1998)'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'American Basketball League (1996-1998)'.

  1. Greetings from the No 1 Rage Fan. It truly was fun while it lasted. I still have my sneakers from Nike and the Vibe Magazine which featured me in it’s article about the ABL. No more sloppy cartwheels and splits. Too old for that!

    January 2, 2014

    Betty Waller Gray

    2 Jan 14 at 6:56 pm

Leave a Reply


Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers: