Lively Tales About Dead Teams

Lone Star League (1977)

leave a comment

The Lone Star League was a Class A minor league baseball loop that existed for just one season in the summer of 1977.   The Lone Star League as a successor/offshoot to the Gulf States League (1976), which also last only a single season with the same concept – a circuit composed entirely of “independent” teams, meaning clubs which had no Major League parent clubs.

Unlike the higher profile independent leagues formed in the 1990’s, both the Gulf States League and the Lone Star League were recognized by the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues and awarded Class A status within the NA’s ecosystem.

The Gulf States League featured five Texas cities plus Baton Rouge, Louisiana.  Four Gulf States League cities – Beeville, Corpus Christi, Harlingen and Victoria – continued on in the Lone Star League in 1977, joined by new clubs in McAllen and Texas City.

At the end of the 1977 season, the first place Corpus Christi Seagulls refused to participate in the playoffs for financial reasons.  The playoffs were cancelled and this marked the effective end of the Lone Star League, which did not return in 1978.


==Franchise List==

Franchise Years Active Home Page Tagged Posts
Beeville Blazers 1977 Blazers Home Tagged Posts
Corpus Christi Seagulls 1977 Seagulls Home Tagged Posts
Harlingen Suns 1977 Suns Home Tagged Posts
McAllen Dusters 1977 Dusters Home Tagged Posts
Texas City Stars 1977 Stars Home Tagged Posts
Victoria Rosebuds 1977 Rosebuds Home Tagged Posts



1977 Lone Star League Standings & Stats at


Written by AC

May 20th, 2014 at 11:23 pm

Posted in

Leave a Reply


Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers: