Lively Tales About Dead Teams

Gulf States League (1976)

leave a comment

The Gulf States League existed for one season during the summer of 1976.   The league was classified as Class A by National Association President Bobby Bragan, but operated as an independent league and none of the six member clubs had an affiliation with a Major League parent club.  The Gulf States League represented cities in Louisiana and Texas.

Following the 1976 season, the league re-organized as a Texas-only league and changed its name to the Lone Star League.  The Lone Star League lasted one final season and then folded after the summer of 1977.


==Franchise List==

Franchise  Years Active Home Page Tagged Posts
Baton Rouge Cougars 1976 Cougars Home Tagged Posts
Beeville Bees 1976 Bees Home Tagged Posts
Corpus Christi Seagulls  1976 Seagulls Home Tagged Posts
Rio Grande Valley White Wings 1976 White Wings Home Tagged Posts
Seguin Toros 1976 Toros Home Tagged Posts
Victoria Cowboys 1976 Cowboys Home Tagged Posts



1976 Gulf States League Standings & Stats at


Written by AC

July 14th, 2013 at 2:50 am

Posted in

Leave a Reply


Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers: